The France Page : Small ads
Regions of France


The France Page - Regions

Franche Comte

The name Franche-Comté did not officially appear until 1366. It had been a territory of Burgundy from 888, the province becoming subject to the Holy Roman Empire in 1034, definitively separated from the neighbouring duchy of Burgundy upon the latter's incorporation into France in 1477. Transferred to Austria in 1481 and Spain in 1556, the Franche-Comté was occupied by the French in 1668 but handed back at the subsequent peace, under the Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle; conquered a second time in 1674, it was finally ceded to France at the Treaty of Nijmegen, 1678.

The region's population fell by a fifth between the censuses of 1851 and 1946, reflecting low French natural growth and migration to more urbanised parts of the country. Most of the decline occurred in Haute-Saône and Jura, which remain among the country's more agriculture-dependent areas.


The regional language, Franc-Comtois, is a dialect of Langue d'Oïl spoken by a minority of people and is recognised as one of the Languages of France.

As early as the 13th century, inhabitants of the southern two-thirds of Jura and the southern third of Doubs spoke a dialect of the Franco-Provençal language. It continued to be spoken in rural areas into the 20th century. Franco-Provençal also is recognized as one of the official Languages of France.


* Audincourt
* Belfort
* Besançon
* Dole
* Lons-le-Saunier
* Montbéliard
* Pontarlier
* Vesoul


Source: Wiki under GNU

France Region map Return to French region map



Peter Hornby Management Consultancy